Skip to Main Content

What Determines Vehicle Safety Ratings?

Friday, May 20, 2016

Although every vehicle sold in the United States must meet minimum safety requirements, the government also uses safety ratings to encourage consumers to purchase safe vehicles as well as to encourage manufacturers to focus on safety features.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) 5-Star Safety Ratings measure the likelihood of an injury occurring in a number of situations, weighted against the average. For example, a passenger in a vehicle that has received a 5-Star front crash rating is much less likely to be injured in a crash (occurring in the front) than a passenger in a vehicle that has received a lower rating.

Additionally, the NHTSA’s safety ratings highlight crash avoidance technologies present in vehicles, which can include electronic stability controls, lane departure warnings and sensors that automatically apply the brakes to avoid collisions.

For more information on safety ratings, and to view the rating for your vehicle, visit

Material posted on this website is for informational purposes only and does not constitute a legal opinion or medical advice. Contact your legal representative or medical professional for information specific to your legal or medical needs.

Get Started

Let Your Aspirations Set the Agenda

Grow with who you know. Reach out to us today and start the conversation, so you’re better protected and prepared for what comes next.

Talk to an Advisor

man looking left